Stamps donated to mark 50th year anniversary

A stamp collection dating back to 1979 has today, Monday 12 June, been donated to the South West Police Heritage Trust.

Following the 150th anniversary in 1979 of the formation of the Metropolitan Police, the Post Office issued a set of four stamps to the Force to celebrate their anniversary. This was followed by Devon and Cornwall Constabulary producing their own commemorative handstamp for use on the same day.

The stamp collection cover was signed by Chief Constable Shaun Sawyer on behalf of Devon and Cornwall Police as part of our 50th anniversary celebrations. The collection also includes a variation cover signed by previous Chief Constables Sir John Evans and a cover signed by Marie Wallis.

Chief Constable Shaun Sawyer and Assistant Chief Constable Russ Middleton (pictured), welcomed the owner of the collection, John McLoughlin, and his son, serving Devon and Cornwall Police officer, DS Jon McLoughlin to the signing of the collection. South West Police Heritage Trust trustee Bill Tupman was also in attendance, who is pictured left with DS McLoughlin as they shake hands with the collection.

The 1979 cover was designed by Exeter Constable Charles Connell and all profits raised went to the Constabulary Widows and Orphan Fund.

Source:: Devon and Cornwall Police News

(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)